logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Links to data sources from " DX de" spotter callsign
K9SO
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 2, 2018 9:03:02 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 30
Location: Wisconsin

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hi Laurent,

It would be nice, on the Webcluster page, to have a simple link to some user-specified data source to determine the physical location of the spotter Think . As you know, one cannot tell a spotter's location from the US callsign any more. Being able to click on the spotter's call, open a new window, and feed that to a data base (even to Google) would provide much needed "HEARD IN" information like W3LPL always includes in his spots.

I'm still enjoying the FlexRadio control addition as well as the SteppIR control. Keep up the great work!

73,

Fred,
K9SO
Applause
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
admin
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 4, 2018 11:51:26 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Posts: 363
Man
Location: Marcq en Baroeul (France)

Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Fred

This information is collected and used since you can filter by spotter's distances.. I will try add a context menu and a link to GE.

since you have a flexradio, you can no link with the TRX-Manager's dxcluster using UDP Broadcasting (UDP N1MM format) in order to display spots on your screen.

73, Laurent
Laurent F6DEX
K9SO
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 4, 2018 2:50:04 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 30
Location: Wisconsin

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Laurent,

Filtering by distance is helpful, and I do that. But with my location in the midwest and if I have the filter set far enough to include the west coast, I can't tell if the spot comes from California, Florida or New York. It makes a big difference here, especially on the lower frequencies. I don't want to filter out the spots any differently, I just would like to know in more detail where they came from. If you're already gathering that information perhaps you can provide a link with that information if you click on a spotter's call.

No big deal since I just cut and paste the call into Google now, but it would be a cool feature to be able to click on it.

73, Fred
K9SO
#4 Posted : Tuesday, October 9, 2018 10:59:45 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 30
Location: Wisconsin

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Laurent, to be clear, I'm not talking about the latest update to spotting (UDP, etc).

On the webcluster page, if you right click on a call in the "DX SPOT" column and then click "Internet", it takes you to QRZ.com for more information.

My suggestion is simply to set this up for the SPOTTER's call sign in the "DX de" column too . Right click on the spotter's call and it would take you to QRZ in a similar way. I think that would be a very useful feature to determine where the spot comes from.

Regards,

Fred K9SO
admin
#5 Posted : Sunday, October 14, 2018 11:57:41 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Posts: 363
Man
Location: Marcq en Baroeul (France)

Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Fred

I think the new update 5.8.2 solves these questions and more...

73, Laurent
Laurent F6DEX
1 user thanked admin for this useful post.
K9SO on 10/14/2018(UTC)
K9SO
#6 Posted : Sunday, October 14, 2018 5:14:09 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 30
Location: Wisconsin

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Yes! Thank you!

USA spots take me to the FCC site. Is there a setting that would take me to QRZ directly instead as it does with foreign spotters?

73, Fred
admin
#7 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 12:35:55 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Posts: 363
Man
Location: Marcq en Baroeul (France)

Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Yes, from the Preferences, HAM bases, just unselect FCC.

73, Laurent
Laurent F6DEX
K9SO
#8 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 1:27:57 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 30
Location: Wisconsin

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Sorry to keep bothering you, but that doesn't seem to work. It was the first thing I tried: I deselected FCC and selected QRZ below, but it still takes me to the FCC site from the (spotter ?) link button rather than QRZ for US spots.

73, Fred
admin
#9 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 3:04:28 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Posts: 363
Man
Location: Marcq en Baroeul (France)

Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
HI Fred

I forgot...

- keep FCC checked !
- from the Internet frame, select QRZ but UNCHECK AUTO.

If AUTO is checked it will open the FCC web site for an US callsign whatever if FCC is checked or not (FCC check box is related to the FCC database, not to the Internet search...).

Also, i recommend using the external browser.

I hope it will work this way.

73, Laurent
Laurent F6DEX
1 user thanked admin for this useful post.
K9SO on 10/16/2018(UTC)
K9SO
#10 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2018 8:00:28 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 30
Location: Wisconsin

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hi Laurent,

Yes now it works fine and takes me to QRZ. Thank you for adding this feature. There are many spotted stations that I cannot hear. If the spotter is in far away California, I figure it's just propagation. But if he's nearby, I want to know what he's using so I can get one too!

TRX Manager ne cesse de s'améliorer.

73, Fred
admin
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 11:04:40 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Posts: 363
Man
Location: Marcq en Baroeul (France)

Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Hi Fred

You can trace the paths for a given spot to the spotters from the Spots Database window. This new window is very useful since the spots are filtered in the DX-Cluster or Web-Cluster list and many spotters are missing (unless you disable this filter what is not recommended). This is why I created this window after my implementation of a stronger filter of dupe spots. In addition from this new window, you can have all other information.

73, Laurent
Laurent F6DEX
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.103 seconds.